

Town of Falmouth

Fire-EMS Department 8 Bucknam Road Falmouth, ME 04105 Business 207-781-2610 Fax 207-699-5268

NEWS RELEASE - 2013-03

For Immediate Release: May 31, 2013

For Further Information, contact: Chief Howard Rice, Jr. at (207) 781-2610

Falmouth Fire-EMS Presents Awards at Dinner

Falmouth Fire-EMS held their annual Awards Recognition Dinner at the Falmouth Country Club on Saturday May 18th. Over 100 members and guests were present to recognize members of the department for their service over the past year.

After a dinner, Chief Howard Rice, Jr. opened the awards by providing a brief recap of the past year and by thanking all of the spouses, friends, and significant others in attendance for their support that allows membership to attend emergency calls and training. Chief Rice recognized the life members of the department in attendance and also other invited guests from town government. After the opening remarks, Deputy Chief Tom Martelle, Deputy Chief Jay Hallett, and Town Manager Nathan Poore joined the Chief in recognizing the following members:

Top Emergency Responders of the Year:

- 1. Robert Franklin (376 responses)
- 2. Lieutenant Zack Tooker (325 responses)
- 3. Julie Suiter (295 responses)
- 4. Garrett Weldon (237 responses)
- 5. Kevin Morton (220 responses)
- 6. Capt. Stan Bishop (214 responses)
- 7. Lieutenant Laurie Page (205 responses)
- 8. Dylan Hallett (185 responses)
- 9. Lieutenant Jamie Garland (169 responses)
- 10. Ron Dearth (150 responses)

Top Improvement in Responses from Last Year:

- 1. Julie Suiter 241 (54 responses to 295 responses)
- 2. Robert Franklin 191 (185 responses to 376 responses)
- 3. Garrett Weldon 140 (97 responses to 237 responses)
- 4. Lieutenant Laurie Page 94 (111 responses to 205 responses)
- 5. Erik Pietrowicz 82 (67 responses to 149 responses)

Years of Service Recognition:

<u>5 Years of Service</u> – Lee Skillin, Adam Winn, Suzanne Grace, Drew Tieman, TJ Doherty, Jeff McKorkle, Chief Howard Rice, Dylan Hallett

```
<u>10 Years of Service</u> – Lieutenant Dave Cuttler
<u>15 Years of Service</u> – Captain Neils Knudsen
```

20 Years of Service - TW Williamson

40 Years of Service – Adam Jones, Erik Knudsen, Kevin Morton

Chief Rice presented the annual award for the Recruit of the Year to Jon Nessmann. Jon was selected for his dedication and for displaying a positive attitude and a willingness to learn and work as a team. Jon is a very active member of the department who joined over a year ago as a student from Southern Maine Community College.

The Firefighter of the Year Award was presented to Firefighter Robert Franklin. In presenting the award Deputy Chief Tom Martelle spoke of the dedication and commitment that Robert has shown over the past year. In addition to being the most active member and responding to 376 incidents, Robert is always willing to take on new tasks and help out the department in any way possible.

The Emergency Medical Technician of the Year Award was given to Erik Pietrowicz. Captain Mike Carroll called out Erik's competence and confidence in gaining experience to become an excellent EMS provider. Captain Carroll also pointed to Erik's dedication as evident by more than doubling the amount of incidents attended from the previous year.

Deputy Chief Jay Hallett then presented the annual Officer of the Year Award to Lieutenant Jamie Garland. Lt. Garland, who is the Lieutenant of Engine 1 at Station 1, was recognized for his positive attitude and how he leads by example at calls, at training, and at the station. Lt. Garland has become one of the leaders of the department that members can look up to.

Chief Rice then presented an award to the Falmouth Public Works Department. In awarding the representative Mike Coffey from Public Works, Chief Rice thanked the department for their assistance over the years providing routine and sometimes emergency fleet maintenance, maintaining and plowing roads ahead of the responding apparatus and ambulances, and for assisting in training.

The final award of the evening was a Chiefs Award presented to Firefighter Evan Martin. In recognizing Evan, Chief Rice noted that Evan has been an extremely dependable volunteer as a live-in student at Station 4 who has recently graduated from Southern Maine Community College with a Fire Science degree. Evan has spent countless hours at the department helping cover shifts, respond to calls, and assist the department administration, always with a big smile on his face and a positive attitude. Chief Rice wished Evan well on behalf of the department as he leaves the live-in program and moves back to his home state of Vermont.

Council Vice Chairman Bonnie Rodden spoke to the department and thanked all members and their families for the service they provide to the community. She spoke of times that her family has had to call on the membership of the department for their service over the years and wanted to thank each and every member for their dedication and commitment.

The Cumberland and Yarmouth Fire Departments provided coverage to the Falmouth Fire Stations while the members of Falmouth Fire-EMS attended the recognition dinner.

End of release.