Long Range Planning Advisory Committee

The Long Range Plan Advisory Committee (LPAC) was established by the Town Council in 2008.  The Committee has seven regular members appointed by the Town Council for three-year terms and includes a representative of the Planning Board. In addition, there is a Council Liaison to the committee.

The Council charge for LPAC states that its assignments include, but are not limited to:

a. analysis and development of recommended land use policies;
b. development and updating of the Comprehensive Plan;
c. development of specific recommended actions the town should take to implement the comprehensive plan;
d.  development of recommended land use ordinances and regulations and  amendments; and
e.  any other projects as the Council may choose to assign it (see below).


  • The Comprehensive Plan Update effort started on April 8, 2010 and was officially completed on February 24, 2014 when the Council re-adopted the Comprehensive Plan. This Plan was approved by the State of Maine on February 7, 2014.
  • In 2014-15 the Committee developed recommendations for encouraging the location of a significant majority of new development over the next ten years in the growth area of Falmouth.
  • In 2015-16 the Committee reviewed the Resource Conservation Zoning Overlay district rules, street standards, as well as the draft West Falmouth Sewer Master Plan and draft Public Water System Analysis.
  • The 2016-17 assigment for the Committee is to prepare recommendations for an update to the 2006 Open Space Plan (The Greening of Falmouth). For this assignment, LPAC was expanded to LPAC+ and will include the Open Space Ombudsman (Bob Shafto), representatives from the Land Management and Acquisitions Committee (Ted Asherman), Parks and Community Programs Committee (Lucky D'Ascanio), Conservation Commission (Sarah Boudreau), and Falmouth Land Trust (Jenny Grimm).


Meetings are typically at Town Hall on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month, at 6:00 p.m.  Please check the Upcoming Events calendar for meeting specifics, including cancellations, special meetings and agendas, or contact Town staff.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Theo Holtwijk Director of Long-Range Planning 207-699-5340

Board Members

Name Title
Samuel Rudman Chair, Term expires 12.2018
Sandra Lipsey Vice Chair, Term expires 12.2018
Paul Bergkamp Term expires 12.2017
Becca Casey
Breana Gersen Term expires 12.2017
Kurt Klebe Term expires 12.2017
Thomas McKeon
Ned Kitchel Council Liaison
Lucky D'Ascanio
Sarah Boudreau Conservation Commission Liaison
Ted Asherman LMAC Liaison
Caleb Hemphill Liaison to LMAC
Bob Shafto Open Space Ombudsman
Dave Gagnon LMAC Liaison
Jenny Grimm Falmouth Land Trust Liaison