

Town of Falmouth

Fire-EMS Department 8 Bucknam Road Falmouth, ME 04105 Business 207-781-2610 Fax 207-699-5268

NEWS RELEASE - 2016-03

For Immediate Release: April 18, 2016

Contact: Chief Howard Rice, Jr. at (207) 781-2610

Falmouth Fire-EMS held their annual Awards Recognition Dinner at the Falmouth Country Club on Friday night April 15th. A large group of 100 members and guests were present to recognize members of the department for their service in 2015.

Introduced to the membership in attendance were Falmouth Fire-EMS Life Members Freeman Cleaves, Ted Vail, Bill Lunt, David Halligan, Allen Coffey, George Tarbox, Linda Roberts, Andrea Macmaster, and Mike Coffey. Also recognized was Falmouth Assistant Town Manager Amy Lamontagne and Resident Bruce Rusk.

Chief Howard Rice, Jr. gave the opening remarks and then welcomed Assistant Town Manager Amy Lamontagne to speak on behalf of the town. Amy thanked all members and their families for their dedication and commitment to the town.

Chief Rice then called up Falmouth Resident Bruce Rusk, from Winn Road. On October 22, 2015 Mr. Rusk heard a car crash into a tree in his neighborhood and after calling 911, he proceeded to the vehicle and then pulled a man from a burning car moments before the car was fully engulfed in flames. Chief Rice credited Mr. Rusk for saving the man's life. The members and guests provided Mr. Rusk with a standing ovation of thanks.

The Chief Officers then presented recognition awards to the members who responded to the most emergency calls in 2015 led by Captain Dave Cuttler who responded on 491 emergencies last year. The rest of the top ten responders included Zach Goeben, Erik Knudsen, Nate Fitzgerald, Nick DaCunto, Zack Tooker, Laurie Page, Mike Baumann, Stan Bishop and Steve Shaw.

i.	Recruit of the Year	Presented by Deputy Chief Dennis Buhelt
ii.	Firefighter of the Year	Presented by Deputy Chief Tom Martelle
iii.	EMT of the Year	Presented by Captain Mike Carroll
iv.	Officer of the Year	Presented by Assistant Chief Jay Hallett
v.	Unit Award	Presented by Chief Howard Rice

Each year Falmouth Fire-EMS recognizes members on reaching a milestone of years of service with the department. The following groups were announced:

5 Years of Service – Anthony Poquette, Jay Vachon, Robert Franklin, Dave Johnson, Jacob Buhelt, Max Pacetti

10 Years of Service - J.D. Lloyd

15 Years of Service – Will Hawkes, Bobby Cooper, Nick Grimaldi, Kurt Knudsen, Matt Norton

20 Years of Service - John Bellino, Scott Richardson

30 Years of Service - Tom Martelle

35 Years of Service – Tom Doherty

40 Years of Service – Stan Bishop

Chief Rice then presented a Fire Box that originally hung on Central Station for over 30 years to Captain Stan Bishop. Captain Bishop is retiring on June 30th after 40 years of service to Falmouth Fire-EMS. Captain Bishop then spoke and thanked his crews from the years.

The following awards were then presented.

Lt. Nate Fitzgerald presented Firefighter Nick Bue with the annual Live-in Student of the Year Award.

Deputy Chief Dennis Buhelt presented Firefighter Jacob Baumann with the annual Recruit of the Year Award.

Deputy Chief Tom Martelle presented Firefighter Steve Shaw with the annual Firefighter of the Year Award.

Captain Mike Carroll presented Firefighter/AEMT Zach Goeben with the annual EMS Provider of the Year Award.

Assistant Chief Jay Hallett presented Lt. Anthony Poquette with the annual Officer of the Year Award.

Assistant Chief Jay Hallett then recognized the crew of Ambulance 2 for their life-saving efforts at an EMS call on May 29, 2015 where CPR was provided and a woman's life was saved. The crew of A2 that day was: Lt. Zack Tooker, FF/AEMT Zach Goeben, Chief Howard Rice, Lt. Erik Knudsen, and Captain Dave Cuttler.

Chief Rice closed the awards ceremony by thanking all members, their guests and families, the Town of Falmouth, mutual aid partners, and the Administrative Group at Falmouth Fire-EMS for the help in working together to make the department run smoothly. Chief Rice also thanked the Cumberland, Yarmouth, and North Yarmouth Fire Departments for providing station coverage so that all Falmouth Fire-EMS members could attend the dinner.

End of release.

####